IEEE SmartGridComms ConferenceIEEE
The general call for papers can be found here.

IEEE SmartGridComm Symposium on
Cyber and Physical Security and Privacy

Symposium Co-chairs

Prof. Sanjay Goel, University at Albany, State University of New York, USA (chair)
Dr. Stephen F. Bush, GE Global Research, New York, USA
Prof. William H. Sanders, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Scope and Motivation

The emerging Smart Grid vision is of an interconnected power distribution network that streamlines transmission, distribution, monitoring, and control of electricity. This vision is being realized through the design and implementation of an information network overlaying the traditional power grid. On the distribution side, it is envisioned that a smart meter will be connected to each household allowing the consumer to not only draw power, but also supply surplus power to the grid. A distribution-side communication network would allow for a more precise real-time estimation of anticipated usage allowing for a more optimized demand-response driven control. The smart grid vision also includes many technologies on the transmission side, including those that provide wide area situational awareness of grid status. All of these technologies must be woven together in a way that insures end-to-end security and resiliency. Ensuring end-to-end grid security and resiliency is one of the biggest challenges of the Smart Grid vision. Not only is it necessary to ensure high-availability, real-time, communication but also to ensure that communications are secure, private, and have integrity. Given the size and time-scales involved, the new grid must also be able to detect and respond to such problems and either recover automatically or provide timely alerts to humans. This capability may require that redundancy and diversity be built into the system in a manner that ensures that critical IT functions not be compromised. Means to measure and validate grid resilience also need to be developed. Also important are policy issues that will govern privacy and usage of information. The scope includes physical security of the grid communication infrastructure including a risk analysis of the critical components as well as incorporation of redundancy in the grid.

Topics of Particular interest

The symposium aims to bring together researchers and practitioners in the area of security to present and discuss the knotty issues involved in smart grid security. The topics of interest include, but are not limited to the following:
  • Grid Resilience
    • Mechanisms to isolate and/or recover from both physical and cyber faults and attacks
    • Metrics of resilience
  • Smart Grid Security Risk Assessment and Management
  • Communications and Device Security
    • Authorization and Access Control
    • End-to-end Encryption, Key Management, etc.
  • Security of Devices
  • Privacy and Misuse of User Data
  • System Security, e.g.,
    • Malware attacks (on the network and devices)
    • Intrusion
    • Denial-of-Service Attacks
    • SCADA security
    • Other network attacks
  • Physical Security of the Grid Communication Infrastructure
    • Building redundancy in the grid
    • Meter tampering by customer or others

Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here.
Paper submission needs to be performed through EDAS:

Technical Program Committee (TPC) members

Sudhir Aggarwal, Florida State University, USA
Bora Akyol, Pacific Northwest Labs, USA
Massoud Amin, University of Minnesota, USA
Nabi Sertac Artan, Polytechnic Institute of New York University, USA
John Buford, Avaya Labs Research, US
György Dán, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Stojan Denic, Toshiba Research Europe Ltd., UK
Mostafa El-Said, Grand Valley State University, USA
Stephen Groat, Virginia Tech, USA
Carl Hauser, Washington State University, USA
Baik Hoh, Nokia Research Center, USA
Kyle Ingols, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA
Georgios Kalogridis, Toshiba Research Europe Ltd, UK
Ghassan Karame, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ), Switzerland
Himanshu Khurana, Honeywell Corporation, USA
Tung Kim, Princeton University, USA
Shalinee Kishore, Lehigh University, USA
Suzanne McIntosh, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA
Hamed Okhravi, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA
Henrik Sandberg, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Lei Shu, Osaka University, Japan
Bruno Sinopoli, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Mike St. Johns, Nth Permutation Security, USA
Le Xie, Texas A&M University, USA
Bulent Yener, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
Yi Zhang, GE Global Research, USA


         home      about      committee      participate      patrons      program      nondiscrimination policy          © 2010 IEEE Communications Society