IEEE SmartGridComms ConferenceIEEE

The general call for papers can be found here.

IEEE SmartGridComm Symposium on
Architectures and Models for the Smart Grid

Symposium Co-chairs

Anna Scaglione, UCDavis, USA (chair)
Alejandro Dominguez-Garcia, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Andrew Wright, N-Dimension, USA

Scope and Motivation

The complexity of the communication, computing, and control of smart grid devices brings a host of research issues associated with performance, security, and interoperability. The electrification of the transportation system and the increasing reliance on renewable resources will require new models for such loads and generators, new archetypes for their efficient and secure interactions through the cyber-physical infrastructure and, last but not least, new algorithms. Such algorithms will allow to broker in real time the flexible smart loads demand while incorporating increasing volatility in the energy provision, associated with green energy sources and decentralized generation.
Recognizing that the design of algorithms and networking solutions, and the modeling of the various parts of the system go hand in hand, this symposium will focus on the architectural and modeling aspects of these issues and suggests the following topics of particular interest to foster innovation in power grid applications.

Topics of Particular interest

This symposium focuses on the following aspects:
  • Integration of innovative services that require a secure cyber infrastructure
  • End use devices (relays, advanced meters etc.)
  • Customer interface with energy providers (software and hardware)
  • Changes in the network architecture to address intermittent, green energy sources and the increased demands of electric vehicles
  • Sensor network deployments, protocol and architectures for Smartgrid services
  • Models and network protocols for real time information gathering, adaptive signal processing and compression of power-grid sensors data
  • Collaborative execution, network synchronization and parallel processing models for Smartgrid services

Submission Guidelines

Submission deadlines and format requirements are the same for all symposia, see here
Paper submission needs to be performed through EDAS:

Technical Program Committee (TPC) members

Sami Ayyorgun, Telcordia, NJ, USA
David Bakken, Washington State Univ., USA
Edward Beroset, Elster, USA
Aranya Chakrabortty, NC State Univ., USA
Richard Chow, PARC, USA
Frances Cleveland, Xanthus, USA
Jeff Dagle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
Alex Dimakis, University of Southern California, USA
Mischa Dohler, CTTC, Spain
Annarita Giani, UC Berkeley, USA
David Gregoratti, CTTC, Spain
Christoforos Hadjicostis, Univ. of Cyprus, Cyprus
Brian Lenane, SRA, USA
Karl Levitt, UC Davis, USA
Marco Levorato, Stanford University, USA
Tom Markham, Honeywell, USA
Seyn Mein, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Bruno Sinopoli, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Rhett Smith, Selinc, USA
Alex Sprintson, Texas A&M Univ., TX, USA
Al Valdes, SRI, CA, USA
David Varodayan, Stanford Univ., USA
Zhifang Wang, UC Davis, USA
Dave Whitehead, SEL, USA
Dapeng Wu, Univ. of Florida, USA
Aylin Yener, Pennsylvania State Univ., USA


         home      about      committee      participate      patrons      program      nondiscrimination policy          © 2010 IEEE Communications Society